Ministry of Education CS Ezekiel Machogu presided over the opening ceremony of a tuition block in St. Teresa Tartar National School. The Cabinet Secretary who was representing His Excellency the President assured West Pokot County leadership that the ministry will progressively improve Education sector in the county.

Speaking during the commissioning of Ksh 82 million tuition complex, CS Machogu termed the school with a population of 1,600 as an “icon” in providing quality education to girls in the county.

He said the Ministry has put in place affirmative action programs in a bid to improve access to quality and affordable learning, especially for marginalized counties. He further said he will ensure the county gets its fair share of teachers as well as continue to provide financial support to increase transition, retention and completion rates in the county and achieve 100% transition policy.


Governor Simon Kachapin asked the Ministry of Education to take more actions to elevate education sector in West Pokot County to be at par with the rest of the nation.

Governor Kachapin said setting aside half a billion for bursary to improve the sector is not enough. He also asked CS Machogu to help revive Kisii University in order to ensure students from West Pokot County access higher education.

While reiterating the commitment of the county to improve the sector, Deputy Governor Robert Komolle urged leaders from the county to desist from early politicking and focus instead on development. He advised the leaders to work seamlessly on key issues affecting the county for posterity.

Local leaders led by PS Joel Arumonyang asked the national government through the Ministry of Interior Coordination to tackle perennial insecurity along the Kerio Valley belt. They asked the national government to work expeditiously to prevent escalation of violence along the area to ensure children get access to education without frequent interruptions.


Leaders present were Senator Julius Murgor, MPs Samuel Moroto, Titus Lotee, Peter Lochakapong, Women Rep Rael Kasiwai, Nyaribari Chache and North Mugirango MPs, Tartar Girls’ board chair John Karamunya among others.